University Holiday Schedule

2018

The following are the officially observed 2018 UVA Academic Division holidays:

Monday, January 1, 2018New Year’s Day
Monday, January 15, 2018Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, March 9, 2018Spring Break Day
Monday, May 28, 2018Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 4, 2018Independence Day
Monday, September 3, 2018Labor Day
Wednesday, November 21, 2018Day Before Thanksgiving (FULL DAY)
Thursday, November 22, 2018Thanksgiving
Friday, November 23, 2018Day After Thanksgiving
Monday, December 24, 2018Additional Holiday Time
Tuesday, December 25, 2018Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 26, 2018Additional Holiday Time
Thursday, December 27, 2018Additional Holiday Time
Friday, December 28, 2018Additional Holiday Time
Monday, December 31, 2018New Year’s Eve

2019

The following are the officially observed 2019 UVA Academic Division holidays:

Tuesday, January 1, 2019New Year’s Day
Monday, January 21, 2019Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, March 15, 2019Spring Break Day
Friday, May 17, 2019Valedictory Exercises (4 hours)*
Monday, May 27, 2019Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4, 2019Independence Day
Monday, September 2, 2019Labor Day
Wednesday, November 27, 2019Day Before Thanksgiving
Thursday, November 28, 2019Thanksgiving
Friday, November 29, 2019Day After Thanksgiving
Tuesday, December 24, 2019Christmas Eve
Wednesday, December 25, 2019Christmas
Thursday, December 26, 2019Additional Holiday Time
Friday, December 27, 2019Additional Holiday Time
Monday, December 30, 2019Additional Holiday Time
Tuesday, December 31, 2019New Year’s Eve

*In order to encourage employees to leave Grounds on the Friday of Valedictory Exercises, we include four hours of comp time in the schedule above. This also brings UVA holiday hours on par with the Commonwealth. View a holiday comparison table of the University and Commonwealth schedules.

Special Note Regarding Essential Services

Even with careful scheduling, on certain University holidays some departments need to be open and should arrange at least limited coverage to provide essential services. For example, most student-related University offices will need to be open on Labor Day because classes are held on that day, and it is expected that your supervisors will arrange for adequate coverage. It is important for all of us to understand how necessary our services are and to work with each other to arrange an equitable schedule from year to year.

When you are asked to work on a holiday, compensatory leave will be awarded. Supervisors should give adequate advance notice to the affected employees for planning purposes.

Your supervisor or department administrators can answer questions about required coverage during other holidays.

Additional Holiday Information

As always, if you wish to take additional leave or use your comp time around the holidays, you will need to have approval in advance from your supervisor. Supervisors are encouraged to be as flexible as possible in granting leave requests, especially during holiday periods.

  • Procedures and eligibility rules for administering holiday leave are posted under the Holiday Schedule Memo.
  • The University of Virginia’s Health System administration will distribute holiday information pertaining to the Medical Center and Clinics.
  • The University of Virginia’s College at Wise has its own information on its holiday schedule.

If you have any questions concerning these holidays please call the HR Service Team at 434.982.0123 or send an email to AskHR@virginia.edu.