Holiday Comparison Table 2018

   

University of
Virginia

Commonwealth
of Virginia

Day/Date

Holiday

Status

Hours

Status

Hours

Monday, January 1, 2018

New Year’s Day

Closed

8

Closed

8

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Additional Holiday Time

Open

Closed

8

Friday, January 12, 2018

Lee-Jackson Day

Open

 

Closed

8

Monday, January 15, 2018

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Closed

8

Closed

8

Monday, February 19, 2018

George Washington Day

Open

 

Closed

8

Friday, March 9, 2018

Spring Break Day

Closed

8

Open

 

Monday, May 28, 2018

Memorial Day

Closed

8

Closed

8

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Independence Day

Closed

8

Closed

8

Monday, September 3, 2018

Labor Day

Closed

8

Closed

8

Monday, October 8, 2018

Columbus Day

Open

 

Closed

8

Monday, November 12, 2018

Veterans Day

Open

 

Closed

8

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Day Before Thanksgiving

Closed

8

Half Day

4

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Thanksgiving

Closed

8

Closed

8

Friday, November 23, 2018

Day After Thanksgiving

Closed

8

Closed

8

Monday, December 24, 2018

Additional Holiday Time

Closed

8

Closed

8

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Christmas Day

Closed

8

Closed

8

Wednesday, December 26, 2018

Additional Holiday Time

Closed

8

Open

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Additional Holiday Time

Closed

8

Open

Friday, December 28, 2018

Additional Holiday Time

Closed

8

Open

Monday, December 31, 2018

New Year’s Eve

Closed

8

Closed

8

TOTAL

120**

 

124

** Four hours of compensatory time will be awarded just prior to Final Exercises to encourage employees to leave Grounds on the Friday of Final Exercises, decreasing traffic and increasing parking for attendees.